Yesterday morning I woke up to the most glorious call at 5:30 am from our schools headmaster saying school would be closed for the day to predicted weather. Seattle was supposed to get bucket loads of snow starting at noon. Well that never happened and it starting snowing at four for an hour or two. I wish we had gotten enough snow to keep us stuck in the house forced to relax but it was nice having a day that was just freezing cold. I spent the day baking which was delightful. The first recipe I made I will share today and the second tomorrow. 

The first I made was the cover recipe on the February Bon Appetit. The more I read this magazine the more I like it but I definitely go in waves with how I feel about it. I normally refrain from buying it but the brownies on this months cover made me look twice and put it in the shopping cart on our way to the check out stand. I am so happy I finally had a chance to make these. I love cooking magazines but normally don’t bake anything from them which I am now trying to change. The recipe was for Cocoa Brownies with Browned Butter and Walnuts. Super simple recipe that only takes according to the magazine 20 minutes of prep time and 4 hours 50 minutes total time. They were pretty accurate with the times although I didn’t time myself. I was most surprised when I made these discovering that they can be made in one bowl! Always a plus when it comes time to clean up. It was almost as if this recipe was waiting for me in the pantry. There was not one ingredient that I didn’t have! I had exactly the right amount of everything. Perfect!

Cocoa Brownies with Browned Butter and Walnut

Nonstick vegetable oil spray

10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter

1 1/4 cups sugar

3/4 cup natural unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 large eggs, chilled

1/3 cup plus 1 tablespoon unbleached all-purpose flour

1 cup walnut pieces

Position rack in bottom third of oven, preheat to 325 degrees. line 8x8x2 inch metal pan with foil coated with non-stick spray. Melt butter in medium saucepan over medium heat. Cook butter until it stops foaming and browned bits form on the bottom of the pan, stirring every five minutes. Remove from heat and add sugar, cocoa, 2 teaspoons water, vanilla, and 1/4 teaspoon slat. Stir till combined. Let cool for five minutes then add eggs one at a time stirring until each is combined. When mixture is thick and shiny add flour and stir until combined. Beat vigorously 60 strokes (Their words not mine, but really no need to count) stir in nuts, pour into prepared pan. Bake until toothpick inserted into center comes out almost clean, about 25 minutes. Cool pan on rack completely. Cut into four strips in each direction.

These were so good! I loved the nutty taste the browned butter added and the crunch of the hazel nuts! yummy! I cooked mine in a glass pan so it took a lot longer to make them so it took me maybe an hour… Way longer and I don’t even think I cooked them all the way… These are definatley worth making super tasty!

