Unsalted butter is ALWAYS on my families grocery list. When baking I go through pounds without even realizing. I can create a stash of 5 pounds in my freezer and before I know it, it appears on the grocery list again. I might as well just go through and write it on every grocery list from now to eternity, or have it delivered to me weekly.

Some recipes I think are just destined to be and it is often my mission to find those. This recipe would be one. I was home all alone on the snow day last Thursday and was determined to bake. I was tired of sitting on the couch and watching food network and was ready to get my hands deep in flour. I had been watching Ina Garten who is my absolute favorite make meatballs. I found one of my cookbooks and needed to bake something. I found tons of recipes and I would be missing one ingredient or the other. I did not feel like walking to the store so found a recipe I had everything for, Martha Stewart’s Shortbread Fingers are what found me.

One of my obsessions are food blogs. I will get a list of my favorite up soon on my sidebar, but one I will share today is Baking through Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook by Amber. This blog is like the Julie & Julia movie and book but better. I love Julia Child, but all her recipes seem so far from what I like to bake and cook. If I were ever to do that it would be with Martha Stewart. I love Martha. Everything she does is so perfect and Martha-esque. If it weren’t for Martha my mom would not be the cook she is and if it weren’t for Julia my grandma wouldn’t be the amazing cook she was. My mom followed Martha when she was a cater, and my grandma took lessons from Julia Child. Amazing, right? So when I found the shortbread fingers I was so happy. Amber told me they were her favorite so I had to try and boy were they good! I have never made shortbread before so it was a new challenge.

The recipe is amazing and perfect. Buttery and Sugary. You must try it when you have a surplus of unsalted butter

Martha Stewart’s Shortbread Fingers

3 sticks (1 1/2 cups) unsalted butter

2 1/2 cups flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup + 2 table spoons confectioners’ sugar

Granulated sugar for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Butter a 12-by-8 inch rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper. Whisk together flour and salt in a small bowl and set aside. In your mixers bowl  beat butter until fluffy on medium speed (2 minutes), then add confectioners sugar. Add flour and beat on low speed, until just incorporated (it should be the consistency of soft cookie dough). Spread dough onto baking sheet and chill until dough is firm (15 minutes). Using a fork poke the dough all over bake rotating halfway through until golden brown, 40 minutes or so. Transfer to a wire rack, sprinkle with granulated sugar. While still hot cut with a knife to form 4-by-1 inch fingers. Cool completely then remove from pan.


Sorry for the lack of posting this week. School gets hectic but you can always count on a weekend post!

