During the last week of summer I stocked up our shelves with breakfast items for my brother and I to eat every morning at 6:25. Way to early to make something but it is always nicer to head out the door with something delicious and homemade. I had been volunteering at the local library and in my spare time and checked out a bunch of cookbooks. Two of them I later ended up buying and the Barefoot Contessa one was just because of this recipe I tried. I love it. I have made it twice now and can’t wait to make more!

These granola bars have tons of ingredients which I normally try to avoid, and they have a bunch of smaller steps but in the end they are totally worth it. You can find the recipe in he Back to the Basics book which has a ton of recipes I want to make!

Homemade Granola Bars

{The Barefoot Contessa’s Recipe}

2 cups old fashioned oatmeal

1 cup sliced almonds

1 cup shredded coconut

1/2 toasted wheat germ

3 tablespoons unsalted butter

2/3 cup honey

1/4 light brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 chopped & pitted dates

1/2 chopped, dried apricots

1/2 dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 350 and line a 8 x 12 pan with parchment. Toast oatmeal, almonds, & coconut on a sheet pan for 15 minutes. Transfer to a medium bowl and add wheat germ. Reduce oven temperature to 300. Boil honey, butter, brown sugar, and vanilla in a sauce pan over medium heat. Poor over oatmeal mixture and combine. Add apricots, cranberries and dates. Stir well. Place mixture in pan spreading out evenly. Cook for 25-30 minutes until golden. Wait for several hours until cutting! Enjoy!

